Saying Yes: Part 2

In today’s society, it is very common to hear emphasis being placed on saying “no”. Saying “no” has become an imperative staple in mental health and self- love. I whole heartedly agree with this concept and feel saying “no” can be one of the best tools someone can utilize on a daily basis.

But In that, I feel we should make a conscious effort to say “yes” to what scares us. To what is new, different and exciting. Say “yes” and watch how life begins to change. 2018 was my year of saying “yes”. I took a lot of chances and stepped out of boxes and feel like I became a new person

Looking back, the things I was scared of really weren’t that bad. It was more so the narrative I had created in my mind that kept me from embarking on new experience, journeys and activities. That is the hard part. Overcoming the barriers that we set for ourselves.

A plan does not already need to be in place, you do not need to the know the exact outcome nor do you need to control all the variables. You just simply need to say yes. Everything else will work itself out as your pursue. That does not mean to run off twisting in the wind. But it means do not try to solve a problem before reading it. You have to read the problem to see what is going on and how to focus your thinking in order to get to the solution.

Life is the same way. You cannot figure out the outcome of a situation if you never allow yourself to be in the situation. Saying “yes” for me has now become a way of life and I can honestly say it has made me that much better of a person.

 

Leave a comment